Microsoft Custom Visual – Bullet Chart Can’t do exactly what I want

I have recently came across a problem like this. I would like to visually present some data shown in below table in a graph like the one below my bonus table where I can easily see what my bonus% value will be base on my sales number. In below bullet chart I can easily see that I will get 2.50% as my sales 499K falls in the fourth tier.

Data tier
Bonus Table

bullet

I have had a look at all available Power BI custom visuals at that time and thought that the bullet chart from Microsoft might be just what I need, so I gave it a short. After nearly an hour of playing around and trying different formatting options, I can’t seem to get what I want exactly.

bullet chart

Microsoft Bullet Chart

The problems lies in the chart itself. With this chart I can only have 5 color for my bonus% tier and I need 7. Note the last one -black color is for the bullet. So you have 5 color not 6. Also you don’t have control over your X-axis label, nor do you have control over the size of it. You cannot even make the bar wider. Anyway it can’t do exactly what I just needed.

Capture2

Do I just give up and stop here? That’s a big NO for a data geek like me. So I tried below.I created a picture like below and you can do the same in any tools of your choice. I created mine in Excel. As you can see it already has the labels and color tier I need.

Capture

Insert this as a image onto you power bi canvas and then visualise your sales number in a normal bar chart. Finally move your bar chart on top of your inserted image, then you will see the bullet chart I showed your in the beginning of this post. If you don’t get what I showed you before, use below button to send your image to the back.

send to back

Finally, the normal bar chart let you fix your X-Axis label, that’s exactly what I need. Set end value at 2M, my bar chart will always be in proportion to the image underneath.

Capture3

There you go. Hope this post can give you some idea of how thinking out of box can sometimes saves your day. If you know other ways or maybe better ways to do what I wanted, please share with me as I would like to learn from you as well.

Last but not least, I hope Microsoft can enhance it’s bullet chart custom visual, so it can better serve our needs.

Leave a Reply

