My first post

Hello world, I have always wanted to start my blog as I would like to share what I know about Self service BI, more specifically, Power BI and Tableau. I do know a little bit about SQL server BI stack which comprise of SSIS, SSAS and SSRS, but  I do not know them well and enough to share.

Hence this is my first post, I think I should introduce myself. My name is Bob and I have been working as a BI Reporting Analyst in Financial sector in Sydney Australia. My career as a BI Reporting Analyst started with designing report in Power Pivot which I started using back in 2010. I have to admit that part of the reason why I liked Power Pivot so much back then is because Rob Collie’s blog http://www.powerpivotpro.com. I have been following his blog almost since he started blogging on his site. Since then his site leads to a couple of other blogs as well, such as Chris Webb’s and SQLBI. I have learned a lot from these people and I have bought every book written by these people on Power Pivot and Power Query and I would highly recommend those blogs and books if you are serious about Power BI. Nearly half year ago I started using Tableau, I have to say that it’s a fantastic tool for visualisation, and Power BI lags a lot in this space. As Rob mentioned in one of his blog post that there are 2 kinds of people in the world: people love numbers and people love visual. Like Rob I am in the first category and how easy it is to get the numbers and get them right is far more important than visualise them. Power Pivot does a freaky fantastic job in this, hence if you ask me to choose, I will go for Power Pivot without any hesitation.

I better keep my first post short and hopefully I will share something useful to you in my next post. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

